Show simple item record

dc.contributor.authorGoncalves de Azevedo, Francisco
dc.description.abstractA significant part of the available double bass repertoire is composed of transcriptions from other instruments. Only a handful of those consist of works composed by the Polish pianist and composer Fryderyk Chopin (1810-1849). The purpose of this project is to add to the double bass repertoire through the transcriptions of the Etudes Op. 10 No. 3, Op. 10 No. 6, Op. 10 No. 9, and Op. 25 No. 7, for double bass and piano. The document provides a brief historical background of the practice of transcriptions, and of transcribing pieces for the double bass, pointing out pieces transcribed by important double bassists. It also presents a connection between the music of Chopin and Giovanni Bottesini (1821-1889), who shared influence from the bel canto style. The technical and stylistic choices made in the transcription of the etudes are explored. Performance versions of the etudes, with piano parts for the use with double bass in orchestra and solo tunings, are presented in the appendices.
dc.subjectdouble bass
dc.subjectFryderyk Chopin
dc.subjectEtude Op.10 No.3
dc.subjectEtude Op.10 No.6
dc.subjectEtude Op.10 No.9
dc.subjectEtude Op.25 No.7
dc.subjecttranscription for double bass
dc.subjectdouble bass repertoire
dc.subjectperformance edition.
dc.titleFryderyk Chopin's music on double bass
dc.title.alternativefour etudes transcribed for double bass and piano
dc.description.departmentSchool of Music
dc.description.advisorMilton Masciadri
dc.description.committeeMilton Masciadri
dc.description.committeeDavid Haas
dc.description.committeeLevon Ambartsumian

Files in this item


There are no files associated with this item.

This item appears in the following Collection(s)

Show simple item record