Show simple item record

dc.contributor.authorSmith, Ryan McAllister
dc.description.abstractThe purpose of this study is to provide information an annotated bibliography of Australian works for percussion ensemble for 4-6 players composed from 1970 to the present. World-renowned composers such as Ross Edwards, Peter Sculthorpe, and Nigel Westlake are represented, as are many other Australian composers, and all works examined are registered with the Australian Music Centre. This document is meant to expand upon the information listed by the Australian Music Centre for each of the pieces. The document is organized in four chapters. The first of these states the purpose and gives the organization of the document. Chapter 2 gives the history of the percussion ensemble from the early 20th century to the present and the history of percussion ensemble in Australia. The third chapter contains annotations of all the percussion ensemble works examined, including date of composition, publisher, number of players, instrumentation, duration, level of difficulty, recordings (if available), and other pertinent information followed by a description of the work. Chapter 4 gives conclusions and suggestions for further research.
dc.subjectpercussion ensemble
dc.subjectRoss Edwards
dc.subjectNigel Westlake
dc.subjectPeter Sculthorpe
dc.titleAn annotated bibliography of Australian percussion ensemble works for 4-6 players composed from 1970 to the present
dc.description.departmentSchool of Music
dc.description.advisorThomas McCutchen
dc.description.committeeThomas McCutchen
dc.description.committeeStephen Valdez
dc.description.committeeStephanie Tingler

Files in this item


There are no files associated with this item.

This item appears in the following Collection(s)

Show simple item record